Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Fenced In

These are some of the different styles of wire used to fence in ranches in old Arizona. Notice how the name of the rancher is next to the name of the knots/wire and the year it was used.  The craftsmanship is incredible.  Those ranches were hundreds of acres large.  That was a lot of wire!

A closer look. Amazing detail.

I imagine the same thing holds true on some ranches today, although commercially produced fences similar to this have pretty much been all I've seen, though I haven't been to the really old, remote ranches.

This exhibit was at the Tubac Presidio State Historic Park museum.  It's an incredible museum.  Nothing special from the outside.  In fact, I thought it was going to be just a couple of tiny displays but it was amazing.

Sometime I'll write a blip about the presidio itself, which was an adobe fort built to protect the town from attacks from the Spanish and the Apaches.  It has an incredible history.

I'm feeling overwhelmed right now.  My inability to gather information for my tax audit from 2007 with my extension ending tomorrow, preparing my 2011 taxes, refinancing my home, organizing a big luncheon, poor health...it's getting too much to handle.  If my comments are limited, please understand.  I'm a bit of a blithering mess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.