Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Bradford Millennium Way, Part 1

Following in the footsteps of @Jeanneb53 who walked and blipped the Bradford Millennium Way last year, I've set myself a 2012 challenge of trying to complete the route on the odd days that I have a chance to get out for a walk.

Today I managed the first section from Brackenhall Countryside Centre in Baildon to Hallas Bridge, just above Goitstcock Falls, near Harden and Cullingworth. I added a few miles in walking over the moor to the start, and walking back to Bingley via Coppice Pond and Druid's Altar after I'd  reached Goitstock Falls (and missed my intended bus from Harden).

This first section of the route involved descending from the moors to the River Aire, walking along the Aire for a few miles, and then up the other side into the home teritory of @Jeanneb53, @wendles56 and @corinthian.  

I thought I'd keep a bird list for the walk, and have made a good start with 34 species recorded today, including year ticks: Little Owl, Goosander,  Lesser Spotted Woodpecker, Treecreeper and Goldcrest.  Despite walking along several miles of river I didn't manage a Kingfisher though.

The walk took me through some beautiful places, but it was a dull day and some of the pictures haven't really done justice to them, so I've settled for the underside of Cottingley Viaduct, which carries the main Airedale road over the river. Of course, any underpass blip owes a major debt to @and.schuh, who inspires us all.

Hopefully I won't have too long to wait for the next leg of the walk, as I'm using a few odd days as the leave year comes to an end.  

under
the bridge
a peaceful river
drowning
in traffic noise

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.