Worries on a Sunny Day

The following is a fictional blog entry by an Elf called Luca, who, as of December 2010, has taken up residence on Earth in the hopes of evading his past. His entries are all tagged LucaDafeldr for ease of viewing, should you wish to catch up on goings-on.

Dear Blippers

The fact that I'm an Elf doesn't necessarily mean I'm an expert on magic - I'm not - but there are some things
everyone knows.

An act of magic will leave behind a trace. You know how when you walk pass someone wearing a strong perfume and it's as though you've stepped through a little olfactory cloud? It's a bit like that.

It happened when Randon (first mentioned here) and I were in town yesterday. I can only describe the cloud as having been a combination of the smell of grease and bubblegum - and magic, of course. We were between Millets and the opening to an arcade on one wide pavement, opposite WHSmith across the road and there were likely over a hundred people within sight. It was there and gone again. I
tried, believe me, but I couldn't point to its originator, however long I stood there staring around like an idiot.

The incident has brought back worries I haven't thought about in months. Could it have been something to do with
him - the reason I'm hiding here on Earth? Could he really still be looking for me, a year gone?

And now I expect Randon thinks I'm nuts. I didn't tell him - I couldn't - but that being so something was clearly wrong and I wasn't telling him what it was, so...

I tried to act unworried for the rest of the day. It wasn't so bad. I had a haircut - a trim. Thought I'd try having it a bit shorter. What do you think? Randon was approving but then he's supposed to be, isn't he? It's friends who are supposed to be honest, so come on, do tell. :)

- Luca

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.