OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Short-eared owl

I headed to Orphir because someone reported a white-tailed sea eagle there. I didn't have any luck with the eagle but as I walked up Linnadale I saw two kestrels, a hen harrier, a peregrine and a common buzzard. I also saw a rough-legged buzzard- a species I'd never seen before...so that really made up for eaglelessness. It had a broad white band on the tail and other features that meant it wasn't a common buzzard, one of which turned up at the same time, so that gave a great opportunity to compare the two species. I also got lots of red grouse, ravens and two snow buntings.

When I headed for the bus back to Kirkwall, a local birdwatcher I know stopped and gave me a lift. Hearing that I missed the American wigeon yesterday, he drove us to Toab and we spotted the rare visitor beautifully lit by the sun from behind us.

This owl was a nice extra.

A couple more shots from the walk here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.