The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Rose is A Rose

It all started with a plate. A very old plate. Or perhaps I should say 5 very old plates.
Pattern: Laurella Brand: Universal Origin: Made in the U.S.A. Cambridge, Ohio

Yes, this is one of 5 remaining plates in my parent's very first dinnerware set, circa the 1940's. I'm not sure what sort of meals my mom cooked when she first got married, but somehow, these plates have managed to remain, after 5 children and over 70 years!

One of the best dishes my mom made was beef stew. Hers was of the variety that included onions, carrots, potatoes, tomato, and barley. We always had homemade buttermilk biscuits to slice in half, butter, and mix into our bowls of this steaming goodness. In later years, she would add some red wine and mushrooms.

The ultimate comfort food.

With the rain and snow today, I decided to make my own version of stew. A Beef Barbecue version, with few ingredients, yet flavor that will knock you over. Served with some plain jasmine rice and mixed baby greens sauteed in olive oil, with garlic, crushed red pepper, and a splash of fig infused white balsamic vinegar, it hit the spot after a rather tenuous day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.