world in a grain of sand

By kateann

buttons and bows

My younger daughter's birthday today, and I'm still not able to drive so we took the bus to Oxford to visit the antiques market for her treat. It was also Farmers' market day, so we indulged in incredible fresh doughnuts (hazlenut and butterscotch for her, lemon curd for me) which we had to eat out of sight of the baby. Baby R demolished a sample of mushroom pate to everyone's amazement.
The stalls were definitely at our end of the antiques market (some might say junk) so we were pleased with purchases of cookery books, a leather satchel and an ice bucket in the form of a globe (hers).
Most of all we were pleased with this stall which had been recommended by an arty friend, for vintage trimmings and buttons, and old cotton reels - some of them the wooden ones remembered from my childhood. The stall holder said I could take photos as long as I let you know she's there to sell things!
I had a lovely day - but was exhausted at the end of it. I think I expected the recovery process to take about 2 weeks and then the rest of the sick leave would be "holiday" - sadly it's not like that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.