Light Flight

Curlews at Belhaven, East Lothian. The contrasting light on and off shore created a dramatic backdrop this morning. I abandoned my keyboard and shot off with my wellies and camera bag.

Big Flight.

This is one of the first set of photos I took, later I was down by the shore admiring the faint rainbow and kicking myself for leaving the polariser at home (because it's scratched - which wouldn't have mattered) when I spied a group of little ducky-diver-things diving and splashing off-shore. I took a few photos which were good enough to determine that I have no idea what they are - a smew is my best guess. If you fancy a go at identifying them, have a look on Flickr. EDIT: It's a guillemot in winter plumage.

In the afternoon I got out for a spin on the cyclocross bike, the route's on MapMyRide via their iPhone app, putting the iPhone GPS to good use. I really intended to do half this ride, just for a leg-stretcher, but I was enjoying myself so much I kept going :) 12 offroad miles in an hour, no gears, no suspension, rim brakes, skinny 700c tyres and drop bars. Excellent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.