cyclops

By cyclops

Visceral Response

Went to a play at the fringe called "Sister Cities" tonight. It was very entertaining, but we did get soaked again on the way home afterwards.

The play was in Teviot - the student union building I was involved in running when I was a student. I've been in there a few times recently, but for some reason tonight was different. As MrsCyclops was in the (huge) queue for the ladies I had a few minutes alone. I'm indulging myself preposterously here and I promise not to write anything ridiculous tomorrow but...


a visceral response
unexpected
all consuming
suddenly in a memory
that is itself an illusion
a composite of many memories
over many years

as I ascend the staircase
my hand instinctively reaches
grasping the post
for support
the familiar feel of the wood
triggers something
the moment I am in
vanishes from sight
i am transported

i heard a call
the pit of my stomach fled
leaving only butterflies
my heart raced
and muscles pumped
as my brain flooded my system
with pure adrenaline

I didn't know what awaited
usually it was benign
but sometimes
it stretched me
challenged me
I learned so much

someone jostles me
and I am back in today

the place I visited
for a few moments
will always be special
it forged relationships
I still value today
in shared fear
shared joy
and shared experience

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.