A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

120 years old!

I had intended taking an external picture of our church today and linking it to last Wednesday's picture of the Old Sunday School which (if you read the linked article you will see) was actually the forerunner of our church. (So now I have no idea what the 1921 sign relates to!) Any way it was far too wet for an exterior shot.

What I do know is that St Saviour's church is 120 years old this year and in 1992 I was part of the centenary celebrations.

A group came together to make this banner and my job was to make the cross and lettering. Others made the back cloth and attached the fringing and appliqued the letters. Here it still hangs 20 years on.

Another event for the centenary was a production of 'Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat'.

As a family we all participated in this performance and it was the forerunner of all the Pantomimes and musical productions we have been in. I did my first ever public dance in 'One More Angel in Heaven' Chris was a brother and played the Butler.
My son Alex was a slave for Pharaoh and an Ishmaelite and Grace was part of the children's choir.

http://www.stsavioursharden.org.uk/about-us/history-of-st-saviours/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.