Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

The Road less travelled.

The agreement had been made, we would go cycling, no matter what the weather, there would be cycling!

My Most excellent Brother-inlaw, having only just taken road cycling up as a sport, showed the true grit that made this nation great, he headed out with me on a very windy, cold and wet day in the Fens. We pushed hard against the winds and horrid lorry spray that ripped 5 mph of your speed, through deep puddles and the worts of the rain. He pushed hard all the way, I could tell he was smashing through personal best timing, pumping his legs hard.

It was not fun, and yet it was. The route was as hilly as you can get round here and presented some nice, if grey views over the local district. The last mile or two were killers for him, very cold and getting wetter by the second, we turned the corner into his road. Brilliant fun! It always is when you've finished!

We had lunch, a good roast dinner, and then spent the afternoon playing with the kids. Wrestling, me being a horse for the girls to ride, pillow fights and all kinds of mayhem.
I love the days that I spend with my inlaws, they are truly good people!

We got home late and I had not taken a photo so here is a little home setup.......the weather and the fact that I was having too much fun got in the way of pic stuff.

Hope you all had a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.