No miracles here

After an excellent evening of fish 'n chips, Merlot and a great catch up at the Ferryhill House Hotel, woke up to ....rain! Aberdeen has been enjoying balmy weather recently courtesy of the Fohn effect but when I arrive - it rains. That drizzly, dreich 'get in your bones', rain.

J and I didn't have a plan for the day, other than my trip to Newmachar, but the weather gave the dunt to any thoughts of a trip to the beach or a walk round the Duthie Park, conveniently down the road, past M's flat.

Caught up with the local news there being two quite important decisions for the Granite City this week. On Thursday the latest judgement was for those supporting the AWPR
(that's the Aberdeen western Peripheral Route for you folk 'doon sooth'.) This has been an ongoing discussion and debate since before I left ACC nearly 6 years ago. It's been mired in objections and appeals from Deeside. Maybe now it is a step closer. then yesterday the result of the Town's referendum on the future of Union Terrace Gardens was announced. It seems a majority have voted for the re-development of the valley formed by the development of a Victorian viaduct that runs alongside the dual carriageway and the Inverness railway line as a City Garden and performance venue. like most folk in Aberdeen I rarely used the gardens although do remember we sat there in the sun on another Fohn spring day, 36 years ago.

After trying to make sense of the 'artist's impressions' in the P&J supplement we headed out to the Art Gallery, definitely one of my favourite places. M and I spent quite a few Sundays there and of course when I was at St Nix it was a god place to buy presents and cards. It is not as huge and overwhelming as some of the Edinburgh Galleries and has a notable collection. We started off in the cafe, then to the exhibition of videos, films and pictures about local residents, next the 'Van Gogh to Vettriano' exhibition, followed by a look at some of the permanent collection including 'To Pastures New' and finally a wheek round the shop. All in all a very pleasant and relaxing cultural Saturday lunchtime.

J then took me to Newmachar to visit m-in-l. I was saddened and horrified to see how much she has declined since I last saw her nearly 4 months ago. her #1 son doesn't visit and #2 son is with his girlfriend in SA. She's lonely and fading away. I took spring flowers and cakes and biscuits. The food may not be healthy but at least it will tempt her to eat. She was delighted to see me and we shared gossip, tea and hot cross buns. After 2 and half hours I left (but had to return shortly afterwards having got to Anderson Drive and discovered my red glasses were still in Newmachar - thanks J for taking me back.). I hope it isn't the last time I see her, although the next time she will no longer be m-in-l, but just a very dear friend.

It was back to Greek meatballs and wine in front of the log fire. The day demanded that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.