Southbound

Woke very early and worried about everything really. It felt better once I got up and focussed on the day.

Still dreich, wet and cold. Thought better of personally delivering mail. A good decision I think.

We started off with bacon rolls and then I was privileged to join J and her two daughters at Mastrick Church where J was ordained as an elder. It was also Communion, the first one by the new minister, Elizabeth Youngson, late of Leith. For J and the girls it was a very emotional occasion as her husband G who died last November was Session Clerk there for many years.

It had been a good visit north, although emotional in many ways, too many memories and with J heading off to the pub to watch the rugby with friends (the postponed French-Ireland match), I headed for a trawl round Union Square and the off south on another packed train. I really don't understand why First Scotrail don't have more capacity on such a popular route, especially on a Sunday.

The weather improved the further south we went and by the time we reached Fife there was a fine view across the Forth to the capital, the waterfront and the sweep of East Lothian, but alighting at Haymarket I was struck by the chill, winter hasn't left us yet.

Molly was pleased to see me and tea was courtesy of M&S and meal for 2 for £6. So that's Tuesday sorted as well.

Checked in with parents and #1 son checked in with me. I thought it was tomorrow. Slumped in front of the TV and did 10 stitches on 'I Love Cats' - first time I've picked it up for about a year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.