0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Holy

If you had asked me, prior to starting Project 365, what subject would feature most in the series then I would have unequivocally said: "Food!"

However, up until now I have not had the chance to showcase anything out of the ordinary. That was until I got a call from my mum, late in the day, to pick up some food she had prepared.

Most Indian cuisine is a combination of spicy curry along with either flat bread (chappati/roti) or rice - this particular dish is unique in the latter. Using rice flour, this chappati, when cooked, develops holes giving it an individual texture, look and taste. It is called 'Kanra Wari Roti', literally meaning 'Chappati with holes'. Apparently, this dish is a speciality in the South West region of India, where it is knows as 'Akki-Roti' and is a popular breakfast item.

This is what the photo today focuses on.

I've never seen this type of chappati in restaurants but if you ever visit an Indian restaurant and they are open to dishes other than those on the menu then request 'Rice Flour Roti/Chappati' and try it out.

In post-processing, I've increased the exposure and enabled lens correction, both to lighten the image (I took it whilst sunlight was quickly disappearing). Finally, added some blown highlights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.