Life on the sofa - Gran and the boys

Am spoilt for choice today. Have put the rest on flickr, I have enjoyed taking photos today. Ones particularly worthy and nearly blipped are


Charley / Ella
Me / Charley / Ella
Sunflare
Dinosaur shoes

Well.

Last night Steve told me he hadn't in fact booked today and tomorrow off as holidays. After I'd got over the shock, and stopped crying, I sorted out emergency childcare for Ben (thankyou Hayley for coming to the rescue again!) and then laughed about Ben's antics, regaling them to Steve to get me out of my decline. It worked and although I still went to bed mildly furious with him I was at least chuckling about Ben.

This morning was stressful. Getting me and the boys up and dressed and out of the house, why it took so long I don't know but I was half an hour late in the end for my pedicure / foot spa treatment. When you get so little "me" time, a thing like this gets blown up out of all proportion and I was nearly in tears thinking I was going to miss it. Dropped Ben off, and then after I nearly had a crash getting to the pedicure I forced myself to breathe and pray and stop stressing.

Twenty minutes into the treatment (yes she let me in!) I finally started to de-stress. I had to close my eyes while she clipped my toenails and not just because the bits of nail were pinging off the ceiling! My fear of people cutting my toenails is apparently up there with needles and dentistry. I had to tell the lady that if she spotted me not breathing again to tell me to breathe - I noticed as I was going a bit light-headed that I wasn't breathing! Silly girl. After that it was alright though. Scrub, massage, spa, nails painted - bliss. Charley woke up as I was writing down the messy mama's blog address at the end!! But I got him back in the car just in time so he slept again to get back to Hayley's to pick up Ben. We need to make a date and go out for a play and lunch to chatter about everything!

We spent the middle of the day in the garden, the weather was too lovely to miss. Ben bounced and climbed and rode and ran and we had lunch (Ben had a full bowl of porridge, by request! He allowed Gran to feed it him as they raced cars along the back of the sofa) outside as well - and then we saw the police helicopter which Ben was hugely excited about!

Inside he read books with Gran and Aunty Joan. About half his library, I think!! He was so tired. But that bit of downtime was what he needed and he spent the evening boinging off Steve with a phenomenal amount of energy! Made his favourite dinner of pasta with cheese sauce and he ate a full bowlful of that before retiring to watch Bud Lightbeer. Or was it Lightning McKane? We downloaded it off iTunes and Ben decided he had to sit and watch the little blue line as it progressed with the download. He reluctantly came and had dinner but afterwards when he and Steve sat down to get it working, he turned to Steve as the film started playing and said "daddy, you're my superhero" <3 <3

Got both boys in bed a little later and Charley stayed there just long enough for me to deal with a nasty hypo. You know it's bad when you don't want to test because you know it's really bad and don't want to know just how bad it is. And you're falling into things trying to get your hypo fixes sorted out. And you resort to a carton of pineapple juice which during pregnancy became your failsafe hypo fix even though since giving birth you've seriously gone off the stuff... But I'm ok now and Charley's back downstairs and I'm watching NCIS instead of thinking about business plans (there's too much whirling around my head for a post-hypo thinkathon, I need to split things up into manageable chunks!).

Not sure why but I found myself looking at aprons. The word has finally stopped looking as unreal as alien heiroglyphics thankfully. A pron. Ape ron.

Yeah.

I still think I need to go to bed...

[So much so that Stephen has had to upload this]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.