Plug and play networking

My minor internet problems are solved. Once I set up my playroom I discovered that my wireless hub didn't broadcast a powerful enough signal to transmit from the livingroom downstairs at one end of the house to my playroom upstairs at the other end of the house. It's not like I live in a baronial pile either it's just a 70's semi.

Anyway Dav came round tonight with two of these, which he had been sent free by his ISP but had no use for. What a gantastic invention, you plug it into a powersocket in the room with your ethernet hum and plug an ethernet cable into it. Then you just put another in a wall socket in any room where you might need an ethernet connection and run a cable from there to the machine that needs a connection. That way you use your electricity supply as network cabling. and can have a network socket in any room which has a plug socket.

Cheers Dav

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.