earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Steadfast

Bigger is good

I had been planning to go to the Edinburgh mega-blipmeet this weekend, but, following the trip to the Lakes last weekend and a hectic week since, I've decided to blob. I know I'm going to lose out on a lot of fun, and miss meeting some people I'm really keen to get to know in the real world, but I'm listening to an inner voice which is demanding some downtime. And I'm not really good with large groups. People seem to think of me as having quite an extrovert personality but the reality is that I'm a shy and quiet soul at heart. I think I prefer the more intimate kind of blipmeet with just a handful of people. I look forward to seeing the blips that come from Edinburgh this weekend ... with no doubt just a little regret.

So, I've had a rather lazy day. A bit of reading. A few chores attended to. A visit to the bike shop for some key bits and pieces. And, of course, a run on the moor! The mild weather was tempting me out on the bike, but it's actually been very windy here so I've decided to save the legs for a long ride tomorrow. The weather promises to be very good.

I took a run out along the edge of the moor above Addingham Moorside to return to a favourite haunt of mine. I think more blips have come from this spot than just about any other. It's so very photogenic, and today offered the perfect conditions to capture the essence of this part of the moor. Strong light and dramatic clouds. Just a few weeks ago the sun never got high enough in the sky to cast any light here. I would guess this is just about the perfect time of year for this shot. I'm pleased with the way it's come out.

Watched "In Time" with the boys last night and we all really enjoyed it. It wasn't a great critical success, but I thought the premise was an interesting one and, within the constraints of the normal blockbuster format, it actually handled the issues raised rather well. Both entertaining and thought-provoking - which is never easy to achieve. We have another movie date tonight. The days are numbered when I will be able to share this pleasure with my sons. Better make the most of it while I can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.