Wharfedale Viaduct

Thanks for the wonderful feedback to yesterday's portrait of Roam. He was dead chuffed that you put him so firmly in the spotlight. He searched for some photos of the young Bob Geldof and could see a distinct similarity. He did get rather worried to see some contemporary pictures of the great man though! I had to remind him that Geldof has been saving the world for many, many years. That kind of stress is bound to take its toll on you. He felt happier after that!

Winter has returned here with a vengeance. A strong wind has blown all day making an air temperature of barely above freezing feel like many degrees below. I did get out on the bike and froze all my bits off in the process. Taking photographs was not easy for as soon as I removed my big mittens the ice blast very quickly took all feeling away from the fingers.

I decided to head out into the easterly wind, not my usual direction. There is a big danger, in this weather, of starting a ride with the wind on your back and getting totally carried away. We've all done it I know. You turn around after a couple of hours and suddenly the full force of the wind hits you in the face for the first time. Your speed is more than halved. It starts to snow. Your speed is reduced further. Every mile that you whizzed out now becomes a tortuous slog back. It's the kind of misery you only subject yourself to once.

So it was a case of head down into the wind along the main road to Pool and Arthington, where on a whim I explored a little lane north which took me down to the Wharfe at the viaduct shown here. I'd only ever previously seen it from the other side of the river near Castley. Built in 1849, it consists of 21 arches taking the Leeds-Harrogate railway line across the Wharfe Valley. The view from this side was amazing. I will definitely have to return on a day more conducive to photography. I carried on to Harewood before looping around and returning (quite rapidly) via Dunkeswick, Weeton, Farnley and Askwith.

I feel quite righteous now for having got out. I think I'm going to light the fire, cook a hearty meal, and share a beer and a bit of Top Gear with the boys. I feel like an evening of guilty pleasure. I've also got to help Roam come up with a great idea for a new gameshow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.