Strawhouse

By strawhouse

There aren't any pears in the hotel

What a hilarious day!!
I've come with a group of friends and my mum to Heythrop Park Hotel for my Hen-do. I hadn't been planning to have one but then I came to my senses and thought it would be nice to have a bit of a pamper in a posh hotel spa! And it's my mum's birthday so it was a special treat for her too.
Since we arrived it's been one cock up after another and the worst; most laughably bad service I've ever had. But it has been so funny and has actually made the day far more memorable than it would have been otherwise.
I won't list all the mishaps and mistakes but here's a few to give an idea:
At lunch a few of us ordered Club Sandwiches. What came out was an untoasted sandwich which bore no relation to any Club Sandwich I've ever seen. When we asked the waiter why it wasn't made with toasted bread he replied "We normally toast them but we're too busy" There were only six other people in the restaurant....
And even more bizarre the brown bread ones were triple deckers but the white bread ones were single deckers and when we queried this he said "We've run out of white bread" !!!!!!
And my mum ordered a pear and blue cheese salad, yummy! After pushing quite a lot of apple - which she doesn't like - to one side and hunting for some pear she finally twigged there was no pear just tons of apple. The waiter's response?
"There aren't any pears in the hotel"
Oh dear!!!
And that really is only the tip of the iceberg - it's like Fawlty Towers!!!
But I'm with lovely friends, we've had a couple of complimentary bottles of Prosciutto - or Champagne as the waiter called it! - and a couple of bottles of wine and we haven't stopped laughing.
It was so nice to get dressed up for dinner and then go to the bar and stay up late (drinking tea, hot chocolate, cranberry juice and water.... We're a wild bunch!!!!!) The rooms are gorgeous and the beds are uber comfy and I've had a lovely day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.