Le feu

I inadvertently watched Eat, Pray, Love tonight. I had never intended to. I didn't read the book, but wasn't particularly inspired by what I had heard about it in general.

...Not the point.

Hearing about her traipsing around in Italia.. of course my heart was drawn out. Watching her get lost among those streets in Roma I know and love so well made me feel homesick.

Ever since I was a little girl, I've always been drawn to traveling abroad. Expensive dreams, I know. That explains why I stopped traveling once I graduated from college and got a job. It's what I save for, plan for, hope for. I think it strange that someone who loves air conditioning and no less than 23 goose down pillows would pine for living in a hut somewhere near a beach or on the side of a mountain.

It's taken me a while to realize what I feel like I'm called to do with my life. And I'm just ever grateful that it is medicine - universally translated into every single language in the world. It feels like a match made in heaven when I think about the future possibilities. It also makes me wonder if I will actually practice in the US.

I won't even pretend to think about knowing how to answer that for now. It doesn't matter anyway. What plans are for my future, I will get to when I get there. God knows I've tried to prepare my own way and that doesn't seem to be the best decision. So I will go where He leads me - always trusting in His path and His timing.
Even though I'm not abroad this week - not on a beach, not on a mountain - I still have the chance to meditate and separate myself from the distractions that have been plaguing me for months. Recharge, reset, refocus. So that's what I'm doing ... starting with a midnight walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.