no show

Lots of walking by the river today after judging all the galleries to be a little too busy. Saw some leaves.

As I wasn't massively impressed with Matthew Bourne's adaptation of Edward Scissorhands I allowed Nicky and father to go by themselves to his Dorian Gray whilst I went to see the amusing Richard Herring at his last gig of this Fringe seeing as I'd foolishly omitted to get round to getting tickets for the first few half-price preview shows at the end of last month and had booked things for every evening of the last week at the same time as his gigs in the White Belly bit of the Underbelly between Victoria Street and the Cowgate. For some reason (probably to stop damp chunks of rotting plaster hitting people on the head) the ceiling of the venue is made from a curved sheet of white corrugated plastic which always looks as if it's just a few breaths from starting to accumulate droplets of condensed sweat and exhalations, much like the ceiling of the old upstairs bit in Potterow before it was all fancied-up. Anyway, Mr. Herring was insightful as always though does often seem quite drained and possibly even upset by the more inwardly-focussed bits of his performances. Well worth catching at whatever he does. I pottered over to the King's Theatre afterwards to await the exit of people but missed them and eventually caught up when they were a few feet from the door of the flat when they answered the phone and admitted that they'd forgotten that I said I'd meet them outside. They seemed impressed enough with the danceystuff though it's probably be finished in Edinburgh by the time I write this up though it sounds like it'll probably be touring around the place.

Back to work tomorrow but only for half the day. Hopefully. I often say that and end up working more than a strict half though at least that would allow me to work it as a short normal day and thus save official holiday-days and reduce my built-up time in a single pleasing event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.