The Wren

By TheWren

...betwixt and between

Yoga this morning was wonderful and just what my body needed. Lots of careful stretching of tired muscles, deep breathing exercises and relaxation. Perfect!

After a sensible lunch (last night I was so tired I just had a mega bowl of porridge) I donned a double fleece plus gloves and hat as, although it was dry, it was also grey with a bitingly cold wind. Spurred on by Travellersjoy's journal of Tuesday in which her larch tree was well into leaf, I returned to the larch which I captured yesterday in the glorious evening light, to give it a closer inspection. The blip today reveals all and it is rather wonderful. Along with at least two different sorts of attractive lichen, which are probably always present on this particular tree, you still have some of last year's cones together now with fascinating tightly packed whorls of bright green new season's growth poised to spring into life any day. It is a delightful combination of new and old and it is all very exciting as the new growth on a larch tree is always in gorgeous tones of soft green.

Hopefully I will be able to get into my garden tomorrow and do some more preparation for the veggie patch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.