The Wren

By TheWren

... sorry it is a grey one!

?..a grey squirrel, a grey sky and a very grey day.

This morning's walk was cold and very brisk. Having lost Bruce down numerous rabbit holes during the last couple of walks I decided that the best way forward was to keep him on an extended lead until we were past the most tempting rabbit communes. This meant that while the lead enabled him to sniff out some inviting holes the extent of his interest was under my control and not his. Surprisingly he seemed to accept this and when we eventually returned to the car he seemed delighted to be on the receiving end of praise rather than admonishment. It also meant he was entitled to a Bonio once home! For those new subs who haven't met him - here is Bruce. He has been such a good fellow recently, responding well to the whistle, but the advent of spring has proved too much for his spaniel nature and his only thoughts now are for whatever lies deep within the burrows!

There has been so little rain recently that the moor was delightfully springy underfoot, compared with the sogginess of the autumn and winter months. The mist had really clamped down and I could only see the faintest outlines of the lovely hills. I took a few shots however, hoping that I could eke out some misty layers on the computer when home, for I felt that decent blips would be hard to find today. Both Cara and Bruce though had a wonderful romp and seemed to enjoy all the spring smells that are obviously to be found around the tussocks of grasses. There was very little birdsong today, which was disappointing but I expect any self respecting bird was cooried down in some sheltered spot, waiting for spring to return! I just heard one grouse as it rose out of the long grass.

The walk over, I was resigned to my misty shots but then, in the car on the way home, I noticed this jaunty squirrel who remained in position just long enough for me to stop the car at a distance away, locate the camera and unwind the window. Sorted. The shot is cropped to its maximum but I think he has come out not too badly.

The rest of the day saw me attending the AGM of an Abbeyfield House where I am the Committee's Secretary, then home and supper.

.... and it was still cold and grey outside when I pulled the curtains!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.