The Wren

By TheWren

Caught in the rain

I have had this camellia bush for about 14 years and I honestly think this is the very first time that I have had such wonderful clean buds and blooms from it. In the past it has shown great promise only to have all its buds nipped badly in the frost causing them to either drop off or form disappointing blooms. Last year it was so bad that not only were all the buds burnt brown and dropped off, but also the majority of the leaves turned brown and brittle and the whole bush was a mess. I pruned it all very severely, taking out all the parts which looked dead - which was most of it - and then tried to tidy its shape. I figured that it would either grow some decent new foliage this year or die completely and was resolved to take it out this year and replace it with something more reliable. I never expected to have a bush full of such promise with healthy dark green leaves and these blooms which look wonderful even when rain soaked. Apart from the lack of frost and severe pruning, the only other treatment I gave it last year was a couple of good soakings with the fertiliser residue from my new wormery which I have called my Liquid Gold. So - I wonder?.....

The grey mist was not quite as thick as yesterday but still enough to mask the hills when I was out with the dogs. The rain was also that quiet drizzle which is, in fact, very wetting! I took a few shots while out but for some reason they either had rain drops obscuring the shot or were out of focus. It is supposed to be a better day tomorrow - so just maybe I can get out into the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.