The Wren

By TheWren

getting into deep water....

Woke up to blue sky and sunshine, which was a tremendous tonic after the greyness of the past days. Shortly after breakfast I donned two fleeces - it is still chilly - hat, gloves and walking shoes and went off with the dogs to Turleum Hill for a change to our weekday walks. Within a very short time both dogs could be let off the lead and they scampered off, noses to the ground, thoroughly enjoying the change of scene and smells. They are very funny and often walked in tandem along the path until one dashed off after an interesting "something" and the other soon followed in hot pursuit. They are never very far from each other but if I do lose sight of just Bruce - as I do nowadays on my usual walk where the rabbits are being industrious - I just have to ask Cara to go and find him, and she does. I can easily spot her amongst the trees and sure enough, when I look more closely I can see the black and white tail working furiously. She doesn't manage to persuade him to return to me, but at least she is able to show me where he is! That wasn't required today as they happily kept together.

We walked amongst the pine and larch trees on the hill for just over two hours and it was wonderful. The views across to the hills were glorious in the sunshine and as the trees are still bare the landscape is still very open. I took many shots all the while aware of the wind rustling in the tops of the trees and the coolness of the wind about me when I moved into the shade. I was indeed grateful for both hat and gloves, but it was the birdsong that really lifted my spirits. It was everywhere.

The dogs had been in and out of wee burns as we walked, but at the point where I had decided to turn for the return, Cara darted off and when I caught up with her I noticed that she had found a reedy lochan nestling in a dip in the hillside. She loves water and so was already in and splashing around with abandon. Bruce decided that he was going to follow his chum and charged out to what he thought were big hummocks of grasses but they were deceptive and in fact very waterlogged. He was momentarily perplexed when he found himself in rather deep water (this time literally!), as you can see from the blip, but soon jumped his way out and followed Cara albeit finding slightly higher ground in which to do so. Notwithstanding the super views I had captured earlier I decided that this had to be my blip of the day.

Both dogs have received their lunchtime Bonio and are happily stretched out having a snooze. Time now for me to get into the garden and start some essential spring time pruning and mulching. A good day for us and I hope for you too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.