The Wren

By TheWren

Shhhhh...I'm supposed to be hiding ....

It was yet another glorious sunny day, albeit only 5' when I set out for the walk with Cara and Bruce. I wanted to get away reasonably early, however, so that I could devote more time to the garden in the afternoon.

I returned to Turleum Hill, where I walked yesterday, as I was determined to capture a good view to share on blip, because you will recall that I was sidetracked by Bruce's unexpected foray into the water yesterday. The first thing I noticed this morning was the wonderful, persistent sound of a woodpecker in the distance, echoing around the huge open space around me. The second was the lack of wind and I soon warmed up in the sunshine as I made my way further up the hill, taking some shots of the views to the hills as I went. Everything was looking superb in the sunlight and the old bracken was tinged with a deep bronze. Both Cara and Bruce were in their element and seemed even more adventurous than yesterday so I reckoned there were some fresh smells around.

On my way back down, the rogue-some pair disappeared for rather longer than usual and I scanned the bracken which spread before me in vast swathes. I finally spotted them, both heading away from me at a distance with Bruce in the lead, nose down. Not a good sign! I continued down the path hoping to catch a better view of them but they had vanished. Then I suddenly saw what was probably the reason for their hot pursuit. This beautiful Roe Deer was standing perfectly still, a good long way from me, but I had my camera ready and took a chance shot at full telephoto. I would never have seen her if I hadn't been inspecting the hillside for sight of the two dogs. My shot taken, I moved very slightly to get a different angle and at that moment she turned and all I could see was the wee white rump disappearing from view. The dogs eventually returned to the whistle I'm glad to say. Cara was exhausted but Bruce looked as if he could go the same again!

When I returned home I resisted the urge to check the photos and had a really good work out in the garden. My muscles are now aching but I immediately revived when I saw that my shot of the deer was so clear. Full telephoto and a severe crop - not bad for my wee compact.

So my attempt to bring you a view was again thwarted, as I could not pass on this shot of the deer as it is so difficult to get a good sighting let alone a clear capture like this. However, I have posted one view here if you wish to have a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.