Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

A bird in the tree is worth ... ?

My turn to host the weekly music session. For a change, I didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to tackle the tidying and cleaning and furniture arranging, so I was fully in control when the first people got here. (Actually, it was just two of us for almost twenty minutes, and we were beginning to panic about low turnout until another four joined us eventually.

I know it probably gets boring, but I have to say that today's session was a really good one. The presentation slot which took over the final 30 minutes was a triumph. No matter how much you think you know or how jaded you might have become, there's still something out there waiting to be discovered and to revive the enthusiasm. Today it was Vierne's Piano Quintet, which bowled us all over. We'd none of us heard it before, and were surprised to hear it announced, especially since Vierne is remembered exclusively for his organ music.

We'd walked to the local pub on the proverbial Cloud Nine and had a grand old chat there. On the way back I pointed the iPhone at this stark tree and its lone bird occupant, and that's as much as I blipped today. AFterwards, it was time to knuckle down to some work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.