Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Zoo day

We've had The Boy's sister staying with us from Tuesday to Thursday so today we headed out to the Zoo. I haven't been to the zoo in about 8 years. We did a project examining accessibility for disabled people. If you've never been to Edinburgh Zoo, it is built on a hill! Some slopes are nearly too steep to safely take a wheelchair up or down and there are various steps around the site that aren't marked on the map given by the zoo. We created a lovely map showing steep gradients, steps etc. It required a number of trips to the zoo, with a wheelchair, generally in the pouring rain and it put me off ever going again.

This time I had great fun. I could have stayed for hours watching and photographing the animals. Did you know porcupines climb trees? We didn't, but there they were, sat high in the treetop! I could happily have used a number of photos from today but I'm biased, as soon as I neared the big cat area, I knew one of them would be my blip. This gorgeous moggy (Amur Leopard) won out. They have two, this one's neighbour continually paces the front of the enclosure, feet landing in identical positions with each step, this one however was happy to sit and wash in full view.

After a great day at the zoo, we headed out to the Cellar Door for a delicious dinner. Second time there, brilliant food and not a single worry that I might be poisoned by my intolerances.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.