Journey 2 Ithaki

By spartan

Fell Running Postman Pat & the Greek delights

I was in the pool when the bell alarm system I got in the barn gone crazy, I immediately knew there was somebody at the door and as not many visit me during day time, the adventurous postman must have found his way through the gates to the main door...and now I know how, so bare with me while I tell you the story!

At 4:03 this morning I jumped on the bike to cycle 60miles while the roads and country lanes are nice and quiet. I could not sleep and although I cant finally do the Dales Relay tomorrow as something came up and I need to look after the children, I still wanted to prep my legs in case my fortune changes. I always run better after a long bike ride even when it s on the same day, could be something in my mind that makes me think that or could be physiological. Returning home had six gorgeous pancakes and when ready I jumped in the pool for a 5000m to get rid of a right glut tightness, that stayed there...at the end, it was created by running so only another run will release the tension. Not that it feels bad.

So now we come back to the bell alarm. Ran in my speedos and just managed to throw a top on me imagining on the way what would happen if the person on the door was a woman. She would think...who opens the door in speedos? Anyway, quickly checked the camera and it was a man phew (although I would not mind the later) holding a box! Aaaahhh postman Pat I thought! Well I call all the post men that as my kids loved the program!

So opened the door and the coughing postman said is this Mr G? Yes was my reply and I signed for it

...always nice to receive an unexpected parcel from my mamma mia and from Greece, those Greek stamps made me jump of happiness. Many yummy contents but the Greek coffee tops the lot I think! Aaaahhh and the postman rehearsed my surname pronunciation and for that he got a gorgeous cup of tea for his cough!! Those 10-12 minutes really connect you with somebody even if you forget to ask their name!! (I did wear my military gardening trousers before I serve the tea, so that you don't wonder if I was wearing my speedos when bringing the cup of tea. Super happy I even messaged my friends in Greece to tell them that my mum s parcel over loaded my mind with memories, scents, experiences...and believe me that happens everytime! I am buzzing and smiling, must be missing home :-)

Always good to talk...with every person on your path..as it turned out he is a fell runner :-) that explains how he found his way in through the woods on the side!!! Nothing stops a fell runner. I am glad Paige was in the kitchen and not out as she would have licked him and jumped on him as she is a naughty girl. After he left I straight away snapped a photo and because I feel amazing I got something from my mum and from Greece this will be today's blip.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.