Trojan

Today we went with friends to an airshow at a small airfield an hour west of Brisbane. It wasn't exactly an airshow but what they called a "fly in". Anyway, once a year they let the public in to view all the magnificent old warplanes from the first and second world war as well as many modern planes.

I entered a raffle for a joyflight and won first prize. I had a choice of planes I could go in and I chose this relic from the Vietnam war called a Trojan. The pilot and owner told me it was an ex-CIA black ops plane.

The flight was fantastic. The pilot did some light aerobatics which certanly didn't feel light to me. He went straight up, then upside down ,sideways, straight down and then few at speed through the small valleys in the hills next to the airport. I got a few half decent photos but to be honest I got a bit disorientated after the first series of maneovers and my photos weren't all that good after that. We even did a topgun style flyby of the airfield. I waved to the watching crowd.

One thing I wasn't was scared and that is saying something. I am normally petrified of flying but felt completely safe in this plane. It was great and I was bouncing off the walls for the rest of the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.