Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The ones that got away

Awoke this morning with a cough that sounds like I've been a lifetime smoker instead of merely having inhaled flatmates' smoke for years in my youth. (There. I've got it in A & B! My lawyers will be in touch).

But the new day, new blip to find and blue skies soon saw us up and out across the Links to forage for an edible treat. Also, the rugby-fest this afternoon necessitated a bit of morning action.

I saw SO many 'mental' blips ie ones that I couldn't take:

... the groovy big black man sitting on his own at a wee round table in the window of a coffee shop, having a cup of tea out of a bone china cup

... the older couple sitting side by side eating scrambled egg and a huge pile of toasted sourdough bread, looking very happy

... the mother and child (maybe about 2/3 years old) on the cafe sofa, both reading a big doorstopper of a novel. It wasn't a child's book, but mum was reading to her, and the wee girl was engrossed. I wanted to ask what the book was

... the lovely young woman in the cafe with very short hair, colourful scarf and a lime green satchel. And a BIG camera. Another blipper?

JR is on a quest to find the perfect eggs benedict. She thinks she found it this morning. Perfect runny orangey eggs, toasted muffins and plenty of ham. I continued my quest for the perfect scone, and this one was VG. Coffee was merely Passable. And while there was the dreaded muzak, it wasn't the usual screechy, twangy Whitney Houston stuff.

Today's photo was inspired by LeeAnne's puddle blips, I looked down as well as up and around today. It's amazing how long it takes to get anywhere now.

That's my shadow on the right. Don't know who that chubby person is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.