Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Flowers for Mums!

The day dawned blue-skied, with a few puffy white clouds. Excellent. I've been admiring blippers' lovely skies, but our usual blanket grey ones don't lend to dramatic scenes. So we set off for a photo to include lots of sky, and to indulge in a foodie treat of some sort.

We headed to the wee harbour at Newhaven, via Lothian Buses (top front). No cutsie wee fishing boats that you see in other harbours, but at least the tide was in. It's usually out when I'm there.

In fact, last time I was there I was very carefully going down the seaweedy slipway (it was icy as well) near the edge, all the better to get a photo, as you do. I tripped on a cobble, took several forward lurching steps, and very nearly went over the edge! I would have landed in about a foot of water and six feet of stinking mud, but hopefully, still holding my camera aloft. There was nobody else around to see the performance, thankfully. Today the tide covered the slipway, so I wasn't tempted to do that again.

A pizza lunch looking out on the harbour. A perfect spot. Er... except for the 'Whitney Houston' type screechy muzak. (Perhaps I should apologise to Whitney Houston fans, but there is a time and a place, and she should never be inflicted on others). Another venue crossed off my ever-dwindling list...

Everywhere we went people had big bunches of flowers, taking them to their mums. There were lots of family groups out with mums, grannies and great-grannies. It was lovely. There must be a lot of happy mums around. And, I suppose, quite a lot of unhappy ones too.

And I didn't even mention the rugby! :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.