Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

More Mummies. But no flowers!

My long-planned photo for today was to be a magnificent bunch of lilies that have been in bud all last week and were opening up nicely over the weekend. But it was not to be.

Someone forgot to check the water in the vase, and this morning they were a wilted bunch of lilies. (Is that a collective sharp intake of breath I hear from all those gardening blippers?) They now have water, and are in a 'critical but stable' condition, as they say. They may not recover. :-(

Undaunted, I set off to continue the 'mummy' theme from yesterday. The 'Magnificent Mummies' exhibition has been beckoning me for a while, and I was reminded of it in a blip of a few days ago. I managed to time my visit to be just ahead of a gaggle class of very excited schoolchildren. Though I fear that their high state of excitement must have abated as they went around. While it IS a magnificent exhibition, beautifully laid out, it's not ideal for young kids - too many written explanations. No photos allowed inside, as anticipated (Naughty Pingirl!), so today's blip was captured before I museum-ed.

I've been admiring blippers' photos of people in the street, and wishing I could just take a photo, or go and ask. Today I asked. Well, in truth, I paid. £2.50. But that included one of his magazines.

This chap sells a well known publication, which he seems to be advertising here (but I made a token gesture to foil him). Actually, now I look again at the cover, it looks a bit dodgy, but Adam IS wearing a fig leaf!

His name's John and he's usually at this spot in the Meadows. He used to be a security guard. I think his new career pays just as well, and the hours are better. He says he does 'really well' here. And I'm sure nobody is going to pinch his spot in a hurry. The thing about John is that he has the LOUDEST VOICE. I can hear him the other side of the Meadows. I'm sure LadyF can hear him from her chaise longue.

"CAN I IN-TER-EST YEW-OOOOO
IN THE BIG ISH-OOOOO!!"

... he yells. Non stop. I think most people buy from him to stop him shouting for a while.

I was trying to get a mean and moody look to the photo. I think he did his bit. I darkened it down, and dodged out his face and hands.

He seemed a nice chap, but he's definitely not as pretty as a bunch of lilies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.