Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Leo Day!

Even if I had a magnificent bunch of lilies, nurtured for days to burst into loveliness today (which I haven't, see yesterday ), I wouldn't blip them. Tuesdays will, for the next few months at least, be a baby blip.

Now all I need is access to a dog or cat, and get an allotment (30 year waiting list) and a daily photo will be a breeze! Oh, and a bike!

Up with the larks to attend the first day of Leo-sitting. Library sing-song day. As I was going in I met a young mum (a Kiwi!) and we exchanged pleasantries. (How old is he? Er, 9 months, I think) I explained that I wasn't, in fact, his mum. This was rather unnecessary, I see now. I think she guessed that, even before she pointed out that Leo's wee woolly hat was down over his eyes. It didn't start off like that (honest, mum), but it may well have been like that for much of the trip, as I enthused to him about various doggies, swings, buses etc. that he couldn't actually see...

A joyous session in the library. Leo laughed and clapped and didn't seem to mind when I droned along in his ear to 'The wheels on the bus'. When he can talk, he may will tell me otherwise!

The librarian read a story. It put me in mind of some of the more 'challenging' classes I have had in my time. But I've never read a whole book where nobody, but nobody, was listening. Or looking. Mind you, if she waited till everyone was quiet and listening, we'd still be there.

Things went fairly smoothly on our first day together. Leo was a delight. I took lots of photos, but of course, he did something cute every time I put my camera down. That's him with his favourite toy, Leo the Lion. Note the tooth. (Note to self: do NOT let your finger go near it. It hurts!). My arms feel like I've done a workout at the gym. I've no idea what he weighs, but I certainly wouldn't have lifted anything that weight more than once when I used to frequent a gym.

I say things went smoothly. But - what are the odds? - he did an (unscheduled) poo in the afternoon. It was the biggest, messiest, smelliest one ever. It's been a bit of a running joke, the spectre of poo-ey nappy changing, so maybe he was testing me. Throw his worst at me and get it over with... Thanks, Leo.

I don't know how mums, let alone working mums, cope.

I'm off for a lie down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.