Nora Berghoff

By nberghoff

Shrinky Dink

This is what happens to a water bottle that is left inside a car for a few days during the heat of the summer in Texas.

The bottle to the left was the one that sat in my car for about a week.
The one to the right was kept in my air conditioned apartment.

Hmm. I've had warped bottle-bottoms before, but a completely shrunk bottle??

People, it gets hot here. That's all I can say.

Now, it might have to do with the fact that the bottle material is not ordinary plastic. This bottle is made from corn rather than oil (environmentally friendlier). Maybe that stuff isn't as heat stable :-)

Anyway, nice little science experiment.

Come to think of it, I might just put it back in the car, just to see what happens...will it shrink further? Will it shrink only as far as the water goes? Will it melt eventually and leak water?

Questions that need to be answered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.