Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Did you hear that?

I had to blip the American Robin, or as he is properly called turdus migratorious, today. We were over doing some work in my in-laws yard today and this pretty boy (pretty sure he's a male from the darker head plumage) was busy hunting worms in the backyard. I have read that their hearing is so sharp that they can hear worms moving through the earth, so I would like to believe that is what he was doing here! He had a thing or two to say but mostly he quietly went about his business. Here is a better view of his beautiful red breast. I spent a good long time watching him while Big Daddy and I snapped about 100 pics.

While we were sitting there, a rather scruffy looking ground hog come scurrying through the yard and into the massive brush pile. Not the best picture in terms of focus, but it does show his whole body including impressive tail. All shots today were hand held using Big Daddy. For the robin, I sat on the ground and propped my elbows on my knees for stabilization.

We continue to have amazing springlike weather and I'm having a hard time resisting the urge to plant everything in sight! Hope you all had a great weekend - see you Monday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.