Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...It's a turtle kind of day...

Actually, I could not decide what to blip today - it was one of those days when the blip gods were smiling on me and pelting me with photo ops. I have posted the also-rans in my This and That Blipfolio if you'd care to have a look. I was able to photograph my first EVER frog today - in fact, I was able to shoot two of them, both seen on my walk along the lakes at Kittatinny. Not sure how I spotted either of them. I also came across a couple of black vultures (for JillyMint) which are far prettier than their turkey vulture cousins. And, saw a Canada good conducting class to a studious bunch of turtles.

So why this shot? Frankly, I think it is technically my best shot of the day. I did not have to do a single thing to it in editing and I was able to handhold Big Daddy to get a clear shot. And, I love the way the lake is reflecting the sky and the turtles. Seeing turtles basking in the sun is such a sure sign of spring! The part of the lake where I took this is actually more of a lagoon, quite shallow. Over the years, some of the surrounding trees have fallen (or been chopped down by the resident beavers) and now make perfect sunning perches for the turtles. I saw hundreds of turtles scattered out on logs and snags across the lagoon - it was as if every part of the lagoon had shiny helmets! It has been a rather glorious day. If you'd like to read more about painted turtles, click HERE.

Grilled salmon and asparagus for dinner tonight ...

Happy Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.