Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Foxy!

The "one-three inches" turned into more like 5 with another inch arriving today. Big wet mess. However, on the upside, the Bistro was jamming from sunup. And, a special visitor showed up - a Fox Sparrow (Passerella iliaca), a first for me! They are not resident in northern NJ so this one is a migrant who was probably detained by the storm. He/she has been hanging out all morning, noshing on sunflower seeds.

Fox sparrows are a large, about 7" (18cm) in length, more the size of a cardinal. In fact, at first, I wasn't sure what it was because it appeared so large next to the winter sparrows. Anyway, had to be my blip because who knows when I'll see another.

Hubs left very early this morning, headed to Calgary via Houston - a long day of travel. Miss him already.

Today's blip is in memory of my dear friend, Lynn, who passed away on this day three years ago after a long battle with cancer. She would have appreciated me blipping a foxy bird for her. Love you, Lynn, and miss you every day.

In spite of the snow cover, I can hear finches singing their courtship songs outside my window, and today I saw one of the cardinal's give chase to another male. And, this morning, after an absence of 5 months, a female Red-bellied Woodpecker showed up at the feeder! Not sure if it is last year's female, or if the resident male has attracted a new lady to his territory. Either way, I'm glad because it means there will most likely be baby RBWPs this summer. So, even though my little miniature irises are currently covered in snow, spring is coming...

Oh, and for all you Seymour fans, he came around this morning for a quick nosh and a photo shoot. Do you think this is his best side?

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.