Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...I couldn't help myself!

After the extreme generosity of the blip-monster yesterday, today was a stark contrast. After putting in a full morning at the computer (work,) I took a couple of hours to work on my garden, then set up my tripod on the patio hoping for some nice shots of birds on the budded-up cherry tree. No dice. They were all too fast, too blurry, too something. It was one of those days. I couldn't even get a decent picture of a titmouse. Hell, even my pictures of buds looked crappy.

So, I made some tea and relocated to the deck, iphone in hand to go through some emails. I heard a scrabbling noise, which seemed close - too close. I rotated my head (and my one hearing ear) around to try to see what was about to attack me. None other than Sylvia Squirrel. She was about 5 feet away from me, on the rail, when we both spotted each other. To our credit, neither of us screamed. She scampered to the far end of the deck and attempted to "hide" in the spruce branch I have under the feeders. We could both tell that wasn't going to work. So this was her last frustrated glance before she shot over the side of the deck and ran up the nearest tree.

So, the picture is really nothing particularly special but the moment was rather hilarious and falls under the category of one of "life's little moments."

On the garden front, I planted 3 crowns of asparagus - they are "guaranteed" to produce edible spears this year. We'll see. I also put some arugula in hoping for an early crop of micro greens.

Happy Tuesday all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.