Wild at heart

By EmmaSTennant

The Royal College of Physicians in the sun

This is where I work. The Royal College of Physicians, which resides at 11 St Andrews Place by Regent's Park in London.

Today was so sunny and beautiful that I was going to walk in Regent's Park at lunch, and take a blip! However, Monday was busy and it was soon late afternoon, I was wondering what to do. Then I remembered that I was sitting inside one of the finest 20th-century buildings in London, designed by the famous architect Denys Lasdun!

I went outside and took this photo of the iconic entrance columns at the front of our building. The columns are a feat of engineering that support the overhanging 'floating library' - the Dorchester Library - which has books older than the trees in Regent's Park. The late afternoon sunshine cast shadows from the tall plane trees along the road.

What would have made this photo perfect is the president walking out and crossing our own Abbey Road...

I'm lucky to work at a place full of things waiting to be photographed - from the poisonous plants in our medicinal garden and the bumble bees feasting on echinacea to the spiral staircases and marble halls within. But I'm glad that I started at the front.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.