Queen Anne with Claire

St Pats in Seattle is an adventure. Seattle is called the Emerald City for its lovely green hills, but once a year it stands for all things (in a twisted American way) Irish.

I entered the City on the Sound via Greyhound and spent a good part of my day with Clare, known by many here as Tookie. Our adventures began with Thai food for lunch at a great restaurant near the Seattle Center. With our tummies full we wandered into the center to check out the Irish Festival.

I think St Patricks Day could also be called dress like a goofball day. I think it is second only to Halloween in terms of the garish attire that can be found. When else is it legal to wear a bright green feather boa or paint your mustache in the colors of the Irish flag?

At the festival we saw lots of dancing, of the traditional Celtic Variety. We lucked out with a couple of chairs near the stage where the dancers were performing so we stayed put for a bit to watch.

Next it was off to the top of Queen Anne Hill to see views of the sound and city. This shot was taken on a little street that winds its way back down to the street level. There is also a lovely little garden, The Rector's Garden, tucked into a corner along the edge of the hill that we wandered through.

Finally, Clare drove me along the waterfront and out to a little park she visits to look for shore birds.

Clare tossed me out of the car near Pike Place Market and I spent the next little bit foraging the market for my dinner. We were lucky, the weather cooperated 100% and I think we only felt a half dozen rain drops between us.

So thank you to Clare for a lovely day in your city. I loved getting to know a fellow blipper and look forward to doing it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.