As She Sees It

By AsSheSeesIt

Crowing About Calder

Another great day in Seattle, this time I was mostly on my own. I got up early, had a bit of breakfast, but saved room for the 1/2 dozen warm mini cinnamon and sugar donuts calling my name at the Pike Place Market. They are still as good as they were the first time I had them over 20 years ago.

I think I could visit the market every day and not get bored, there is so much to see and so many treasures to unearth. I bought some lovely lavender soap and a bag of dried apple chips.

From the market it was off to Seattle Art Museum to see the Gauguin Polynesia exhibit, it was worth every penny. I saw so much beautiful art, both his and from the islands he visited. The exhibit was well presented and the audio tour helped move it along.

My dad was up in the area visiting his lady friend so they picked me up at the museum and we went out to lunch at Duke's Chowder House on Alki. I have not been out there in more years than I can count and I just wish it had been a sunnier day.

I talked My dad into visiting one of Seattle's more archicturally mocern buildings, The Central Library. We walked around some and went to the tenth floor to check out the reading area and stand on the little balcony that looks down through to the third floor; it is not for the faint of heart.

After coffee, we parted ways and I wandered back across town, past Westlake Center and on to the hostel. There was still daylight left so I went on down to the Olympic Sculpture Park on the waterfront and found this sculpture.

The light was getting low and the clouds thickening up so it was hard to capture the bright orange of this Eagle by Alexander Calder. When I saw the crow perched on top I had to try anyway.

I made it to within three blocks of my hostel before the heavens opened and I got my only soaking of the entire trip north. It is amazing how wet a person can get in three blocks.

The night ended in the hostel theater watching Lost Boys.

Please check out my backblips for Bellingham With Artistannie and Seattle with Clare (tookie).

What is the next adventure? It is too soon to tell.

Happy Blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.