The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Goose or gander?

"Want some grass, Man?"

The goose did have a slightly stoned look about it as it eyed me up. I can't work out which are geese and which are ganders in the flock of 6 that live on the River Kent at Watercrook. There was a curmudgeonly old gander, who lived apart from the others, whom I did blip last year in a show of rough love with one of the three grey geese (might be this one). As reported here earlier in the year, the old gander somehow came to grief - perhaps falling victim to a fox. The geese are wary of dogs, but the old gander was less cautious.

As for yesterday's blip, I didn't need to lie flat out on the dewy grass, so it was only knees and elbows that got wet. The angle of slope of the hill works in my favour, I can look up slope towards the sun and catch the sparkle. I have to say it took me a while to realise the potential of Dallam Park for bokeh grass shots. I have often tried for something similar in our garden, but that does require full body immersion in the wet grass.

Otherwise an uneventful sort of day at the office.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.