I can't ... because ...

I think we all talk ourselves into corners using the above phrase:

I can't because of my mortgage.
I can't because of my job.
I can't because of my kids.
I can't because of my dog.

I'm not good enough, fast enough, pretty enough, young enough, not old enough.

It stops us from doing things that our hearts really desire; things that would help us to be a better person, a happier person, a more fulfilled person ...

Cousteau is my 'I can't because'; sometimes it is my lack of self-belief which holds me back.

My friends pick me up and put me back on track, but there comes a time when I have to put myself on the path and take stock of what I am doing.

When I decided to leave teaching to become a full-time photographer, that was a 'sure, why not?' moment. The reality is that I have willingly saddled myself with a whole new bunch of 'I can't ... becauses'.

So, from here on in, I will pull myself up when I say (or think) 'I can't ... because ...' and ask myself if maybe there is a way I can say 'sure, why not?' instead.

All these exciting paths and opportunities that I turn down. I need to start taking them.

~B~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.