The Wren

By TheWren

Serenading spring

Well I am convinced now that spring is here. This has been a glorious day and the walk this morning was under the brightest of blue skies with the odd fluffy cloud scudding along to prove that there was some movement high above. I was spoilt for choice with photos as the sunshine had brought out all the colours and shadows which have been so lacking this autumn and winter. I even captured a wonderful shot of the burnished tips of birch trees against a blue sky perfectly reflected in a puddle just before Bruce arrived to drink gustily from it.

However, near the end of the walk this little chap flew beside me and perched just ahead on a fence post and proceeded to sing his little heart out. Once I had taken a couple of shots he flew off leaving me enchanted.

Being very mindful of my lonely frog who has been croaking away for a mate for some days now, I discovered some frog spawn in a ditch and found a new use for a green doggy bag! I only rescued a small dollop and have now put it safely into an old (very old) baby bath where I can hopefully rear some new frogs to one day provide a mate. I know that the ditch where I took the spawn from will dry up very shortly so I hope I have given the potential frogs an alternative but viable new home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.