Held fast

The snow was still very much in evidence this morning as I walked the dogs and I was glad I had my full winter's gear on. There were signs of a thaw, however, and I took this shot from underneath the branch of a pine tree as the snow was melting but still held in chunky frozen icicles.

Towards the end of the walk I came across a magnificent beech tree which is now almost completely bereft of leaves and I was about to take a photo of its trunk and branches half covered in snow when a sudden shaft of elusive sunshine filtered through the branches and lit up the snowy carpet studded with tiny golden nuggets of beech leaves. It was too good to resist so down I went on my hunkers - much to the amusement of the dogs who were on the lead by now - and managed to capture this shot just before Bruce decided enough was enough and pulled at the lead, knocking me off balance as he did so! At least I didn't have far to fall and it was a soft landing .... and i managed to keep my camera held high! Thankfully no-one was around.

Chuckle factor :- I have just read my journal from this day last year and note that I had a super shot all lined up until Bruce arrived and put his foot in it! Not a lot changes then .... Except this day last year did feel like the beginning of spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.