What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Redbreast

So on Monday, with the help of my local knowledge savvy mother, I went shopping for a new lens after I spotted a nice zoomer in a shop for what looked to be £100 cheaper than the lowest price I'd see in Cambers.

Yes, it is a fairly basic 55-200 (there's no image stabilisation) but after confirming the price I got chatting with the clerk and he's actually got the same starter kit as me and mentioned it was the first zoom he brought - and he showed me some evidence of some quite awesome shots he'd done too - well I was sold. Mum then helped me more as their shop had no filters, and a certain high street store was asking for £40 for a medium-quality one, by taking me to a shop that did my student ID photo eleven years ago which has survived everything thrown at it and had a much better filter for £20 (which is actually £5 less than for the same here in Cambridge!)

Today, armed with new lens (but no monopod, which I will say would have helped) and with the sun blazing over lunch I got a pass and went in with no idea of what to shoot.

And then this guy started stalking me, flitting back and forth, singing noisily and generally demanding attention. Of course every time I even lifted the camera he flew up higher or further away, so I started ignoring him and he finally came in close and stayed long enough for me to get this one. It's not as good as the one where he was facing me (but that was a bit blurred) but as first attempts go, I'm quite happy with it.


Today has also been about the back-Blipping, particularly of the kitties my parents have recently adopted - there are three so they are officially crazy cat people now! So I give you:
The Matriarch - a.k.a. Jasmine
The Explorer - a.k.a. Harry
The Baby - a.k.a. Poppy

And for non-cat back-Blips:
Mother's Day (which I actually may have posted on time, but I'm too frazzled to remember!)
Barsoom - featuring an overly long review of 'John Carter of Mars' and my own version of the red planet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.