0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Schrödinger?s Cat

For today's post and daily challenge I wanted to photograph an artifact to illustrate the Greek mythology of Pandora's Box.

We all know the story I think - Pandora was given a beautiful box which she was not to open under any circumstance. Impelled by her curiosity given to her by the Gods, Pandora opened it, and all evil contained therein escaped and spread over the earth.

My initial idea was to use something small like a trinket box but I couldn't find anything suitable around town or in the house. I also wanted to show the 'evil' in the form of light escaping from the box but found it difficult with the limited lighting available to me.

I had to make do with my wife's vanity case, which you see in the picture. I set up a dark room and illuminated the box for a few seconds with a light source. Although not what I set out to achieve, I think it's OK and will have to do.

Interestingly, Pandora's 'Box' was not a box after all, but a large ceramic jar known as a pithos and most were as tall or taller than a human!

Our Daily Challenge (ODC): MYTHS & LEGENDS

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.