a town called E.

By Eej

Fallen



Shortly after I came home this afternoon I saw a few police cars and an ambulance next door. The cars kept driving on and off and it was clear something was going on. Something not good.
I had heard someone talking loudly on the phone at the back of the neighbour's house, but what I heard sounded so unreal, I knew I must have misheard.

After what seemed hours the Beloved came home and went over to see what had happened and I realised that what I had overheard was exactly what was going on. Our neighbour suffered a heart attack last night and passed away. The voice I had heard was his friend who came to check up on him and found him, and then had to make some difficult phonecalls.

Aside from being sad, I also feel guilty for not having heard anything even though I realise I couldn't have - nor could I have done a thing. And I am weirded out that 2 people we know had a heart attack on the same day - be it with varying outcomes.

When I said yesterday the sting was in the tail, I had no idea there would be more sting to come - and I'm pleading with the universe that with a weekend left in this week the sting stops here.
Please.


Rest in peace, Kevin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.