Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Unexpected

I'm having a (to me) very unexpected bird moment. My camera, bless it, is really not suitable for moving targets, and small birds are a complete no-no, but I seem to keep tripping over the larger and slower variety!
Went to the Vyne today, a glorious NT house just the other side of Basingstoke, expecting a) to look at more colour than I can cram into my miniscule garden at home, and b) to sit by the lake in the sunshine. The grounds and parkland are just heaven, but the gardens? No.
Zip, zilch, zero.
Bare - if very well sifted - earth and nothing but daffys in the grass and one lovely magnolia tree near the tea room (ah, National Trust cake!!!).
However, on my way back to the car I wandered into the mostly grassed over kitchen garden and found 4 of these girls. They thought it a hoot when I sat down by their enclosure and came rushing over for food. I have a pic of one pecking the lens of my camera. Her eyes are miraculously in focus, but the beak has turned into a fuzzy blob. So you have this one.
If I didn't expect to blip her today, it looks like she didn't expect me to either.
Shock and awe..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.