The protest

Or so called protest. I've picked out the number of actual Lincoln City shirts I can see amongst this particular collection of aggrieved 'fans'. Three.

Yesterday my club endured a really dark afternoon. For the first time since 1981 the fans protested against the clubs board and manager, wanting them out. They do this as we enter the final nine games of the season just one point clear of an embarrassing and potentially existence threatening second relegation.

The frustration behind the protest is understandable, but the problems we've faced aren't entirely the fault of the current board and manager - they're the culmination of years of bad decisions. What makes me laugh is these so called fans have stood by and watched us get relegated out of the league without so much as a peep. Had they demonstarted in May of last year I'd stand side by side with them. Now however they can get knotted.

I actually made a stand yesterday as well. I joined the 'proper' fans on the Stacey West end and began to sing my heart out for the boys and the club I love. Then the songs turned from positive into negative as a wave of 'Holdsworth Out' resonated around my spiritual home. I stood up in disgust and shouted that those singing weren't fans of the club. It's fair to say one speaking out against several hundred left me fairly open to some abuse.

The amusing thing is the 'fans' cheered when we went 1-0 up, and similarly they did the same when we went 2-0 up. There were one or two like myself and a lad called Matt who opted to show our disgust of their actions by barracking them after our goal.... by them I mean the fans not the players. The lads in red and white have my unquestioned support when they step on that pitch.

So to sum up I think the protest was simply a few dissaffected but misdirected fans who were manipulated and positioned by people looking to further their own egos, and finally peppered with a few old school hooligans who thought it might all turn a bit tasty. It didn't really, unless you count my little ginger voice shouting 'shut up you fucking pricks and support the team' everytime their (barely broken) voices began to chant their bile.

In other news I heard a chap called Neil Hobbs on the radio supporting the protest. I'm sure one or two of my longer standing subscribers might remember him from 'me getting sacked' fame, or the episode where I had a breakdown after a constant barrage of victimisation by him and his poisoned keyboard.

So that's another reason I think the protest is all bollocks. We won 2-0 and you lot achieved nothing but to make yourselves look like a bunch of uncouth, aggravated chavs with a lack of direction and passion. I think the song goes like this:

"It's nice to know you're here, it's nice to know you're here, it's nice to know you're here"

"Now fuck off"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.